A man awaits his end, dreading and hoping all,

Quite frankly, that’s exactly how I feel about research papers. I’m more of the free spirit kinda gal. I like short essays where I need not drag my thoughts on and on. Furthermore, to have me formulate something uber-structured will ultimately be the death of me. If I don’t harm myself in the process.

No, I don’t need psychological help….(For now).  🙂

But for this class, I seems as though I have no other alternative then to face the music. Thus, I have conjured up two potential topics for a research paper. Maybe, I could get some feedback.

First, I have been quite interested in the one topic mentioned, the rise of the novel. Since after reading Locke, I have realized how the novel had been shunned as allusions and not being straightforward. That, according to Locke, we should be out and learning on our own via our senses and experiences. Thus, I may want to investigate how the novel became popular regardless towards the conclusion of the 17th century.

And secondly, I noticed that Hawthorne had been removed from the class syllabus. Having read The Scarlet Letter years ago, I was thinking of trying to find Enlightenment qualities within the text although the plot focuses around a Puritan society. I can also draw on Benjamin Franklin’s essay read in class to draw a secondary parallel.

Yea…that’s about it for now. Hopefully, these ideas can possibly lead me where no man has gone before? Nah, unlikely, but it’s what I’m interested in.

~ by kellysawesomethoughts on February 8, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
